Course description

Who Will Benefit?

• Product Owners, Product Managers, Product Line Managers, Business        Owners, and Business
• Solution Managers, Portfolio Managers, Program Managers, and members of the LACE
• Enterprise, Solution, and System Architects

Topics Covered

• Becoming a Product Owner/Product Manager in the SAFe enterprise
• Preparing forPI Planning
• Leading PI Planning
• Executing Iterations
• Executing the Program Increment
• Becoming a Certified SAFe® Product Owner/Product Manager

What you’ll learn

After attending the class, attendees should be able to:

• Articulate the Product Owner and Product Manager roles
• Connect SAFe Lean-Agile principles and values to the PO/PM roles
• Decompose Epics into Features and decompose Features into Stories
• Manage Program and Team backlogs
• Collaborate with Agile teams in estimating and forecasting work
• Represent Customer needs in Program Increment Planning
• Execute the Program Increment and deliver continuous value


All are welcome to attend the course, regardless of experience. However, the following
prerequisites are highly recommended for those who intend to take the SAFe® 5 Product
Owner/Product Manager (POPM) certification exam:
• Attend a Leading SAFe® course
• Experience working in a SAFe environment
• Experience with Lean, Agile, or other relevant certifications

Class registration includes:

• Attendee workbook
• Preparation and eligibility to take the exam
• One-year membership to the SAFe Community Platform
• Certification of completion
• SAFe 5 Product Owner/Product Manager certification upon passing of exam
Attendees must attend both days of the course in order to qualify for the exam.

Annual Renewal

Certifications expire one year from the date of certification is earned.

• Renewal fee: $100/year

Professional Development Units (PDUs) and Scrum Education Units (SEUs)

• You may be eligible to apply for 15 PDUs toward your continuing education requirements with the Project Management Institute (PMI) for PMP, PgMP, and PMI-ACP certifications
• You may be eligible to apply for SEUs under Category C, toward earning or renewing your CSP through the Scrum Alliance

What will i learn?


  • None

Steven Mahathirath





Skill level


Expiry period

12 Months



Related courses